Warning: The magic method Vc_Manager::__wakeup() must have public visibility in /home/u349645016/domains/vincidigital.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/js_composer_salient/include/classes/core/class-vc-manager.php on line 205
Five Books Every Business Owner Should Read

For many entrepreneurs the pursuit of knowledge and the desire for continuous improvement is ingrained in their very makeup. As a business owner and serial entrepreneur, I have continuously sought opportunities to learn and evolve in order to make myself my own most valuable asset. Over the years I have taken masterclasses, gone to seminars and retreats, listened to podcasts and read books all with the goal of bettering myself and my businesses.

Entrepreneurs never plan to only be successful for a short period of time. The goal is to achieve success that will last. This will not be achievable if you do not are not in a constant state of growth and evolution as trends, markets and the world change year after year.

In today’s blog I am sharing five books that have helped me grow as an entrepreneur and that every business owner regardless of the industry can benefit from.

Vision Driven Leader by Michael Hyatt

Vision Driven Leader by Michael Hyatt

Without knowing the destination you seek, you can’t decide on the route your business will take, the check points you’ll need to hit along the way or even the people you may want to take without. You can drive around from place to place and you may find a cool town or landmark here and there, but you won’t actually reach a destination because you never actually figured out where you wanted to go in the first place.

New York Times bestselling author, Michael Hyatt, wrote Vision Driven Leader to help you understand that defining your destination MUST come before you break out the map and only the leader of your business, YOU, can decide where that destination is, why you want to go there, who it is you’re taking, and how you’re going to get there.

Within this book Hyatt breaks down how you can build a clear and detailed vision for your business along with how to build the road map that will get you there.

“In The Vision Driven Leader, Michael Hyatt offers six tools for crafting an irresistible vision for your business, rallying your team around the vision, and distilling it into actionable plans that drive results. Based on Michael’s 40 years of experience as an entrepreneur and executive, backed by insights from organizational science and psychology, and illustrated by case studies and stories from multiple industries, The Vision Driven Leader takes you step-by-step from why to whatand then how. Your business will never be the same.”

Building a Story Brand by Donald Miller

Building a Story Brand by Donald Miller

If there is a book that encompasses a big chunk of how we approach marketing here at Vinci, this is it folks. Building a Story Brand by Donald Miller has transformed thousands of businesses and allowed them to move away from outdated tactics and strategies and implement a theology that is not only effective but AUTHENTIC.

Rather than making you and your business the main character, Miller has discovered a formula that stands out among the crowd by making your target audience the hero and serving as a guide that will help them achieve their wants, needs and desires. The Story Brand concept will help your business change its own narrative and start attracting the right people.

“The StoryBrand process is a proven solution to the struggle business leaders face when talking about their companies. Without a clear, distinct message, customers will not understand what you can do for them and are unwilling to engage, causing you to lose potential sales, opportunities for customer engagement, and much more. In Building a StoryBrand, Donald Miller teaches marketers and business owners to use the seven universal elements of powerful stories to dramatically improve how they connect with customers and grow their businesses.”

Start With Why by Simon Sinek

Start With Why by Simon Sinek

When it comes to a book that can benefit business owners and entrepreneurs regardless of industry, size, location and resources – Start With Why by Simon Sinek is it. Over the past several years “finding your why” has become a tagline meant to help business owners get to the root of their motivation, their drive and passion. It’s become such a popular conversation prompt that MLM’s, small business seminars and mentorship programs have all used it to help business owners get grounded and define the heart and soul of their business.

The “why” movement started with Sinek and his book will prompt you to take a long hard look at the why’s within your business.

“People like Martin Luther King Jr., Steve Jobs, and the Wright Brothers had little in common, but they all started with WHY. They realized that people won’t truly buy into a product, service, movement, or idea until they understand the WHY behind it. START WITH WHY shows that the leaders who have had the greatest influence in the world all think, act and communicate the same way—and it’s the opposite of what everyone else does. Sinek calls this powerful idea The Golden Circle, and it provides a framework upon which organizations can be built, movements can be led, and people can be inspired. And it all starts with WHY.”

The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks

The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks

Have fear and old habits been holding you back? Have you allowed your growth to be limited by what you’ve previously been taught, past failure or simply because you aren’t willing to take risks? The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks is an invaluable book for the business owner who has been facing insecurtiy and wants to break free from all of the things that have kept them from reaching their full potential.

The lessons within this groundbreaking book can be applied both personally and professionally. Hendricks will help you overcome insecurities by showing you that you are capable of overcoming your own self-imposed limitations.

“With over 100,000 copies sold, New York Times bestselling author Gay Hendricks demonstrates how to go beyond your internal limits, release outdated fears and learn a whole new set of powerful skills and habits to liberate your authentic greatness. Fans of Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle, Marianne Williamson, and Gabrielle Bernstein will discover the way to break down the walls to a better life.”

The Alter Ego Effect by Todd Hermon

The Alter Ego Effect by Todd Hermon

The Alter Ego Effect by Todd Hermon is an outside of the box, breath of fresh air bringing business owners a fresh outlook on potential and offering you a non-traditional approach to conquering YOURSELF and achieving success on your terms. Hermon explains how many of the most successful people in business, sports, and entertainment are able to tap into the heroes within themselves (their alter egos) and adapt the traits, characteristics, and abilities necessary to go further in their particular arena.

While this concept may sound a bit “out there”, this method is not some mambo jumbo that Hermon dreamt up on a hot summer night. There is actual science and research that supports this method of personal development and route to achievement.

“After 21 years of working with elite athletes, performers, and leaders, Todd Herman has discovered how you can use your alter ego to achieve the seemingly impossible. In this transformative guide, Herman teaches you how to create and control an alter ego. Herman also shares his own story: He knew that inside was a confident, self-assured, intelligent person who could help others get better results in their lives. When he started using Superman’s classic trick – putting on a pair of glasses – he learned to trigger the specific traits he needed to achieve his goals. The Alter Ego Effect is not about creating a false mask – it’s about finding the hero already inside you. It’s a proven way of overcoming the self-doubt, negativity, and insecurity that hold you back and empower you to ultimately become your best self.”

Each of the books we have shared on today’s blog are drastically different, written by different authors who have come from different backgrounds. BUT all of these books hold valuable tools for entrepreneurs to implement in their lives, business and their roles as leaders. As a leader of my own companies, I am a firm believer in constant personal growth and development. There is never a cap on learning or self-betterment. Leading by example and setting the tone for others to follow is one of the most important aspects of our roles as CEO’s.

Are you looking for more ways to elevate yourself as a business leader? Let’s connect and talk about how small business consulting can help you reach new heights!

Gerald D. Vinci

Gerald D. Vinci

Gerald D. Vinci is the CEO of Vinci Digital with over 20 years of experience in marketing and advertising. He partners with mid-size, established businesses as a growth and scalability consultant and strategic branding advisor as well as offering a full-suite of agency services. Gerald calls Carmel, CA home with his wife Safira and two children. He has co-authored two books, and is working on his own upcoming book titled, “Small Business Pricing Mastery – Creating effective pricing and defining value for today’s products and services.”